

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE 26th ASSEMBLY OF EUROTARY 87 HELD IN KORSØR ON SUNDAY SEPTEMBER 10th 2017

1. Welcome

Steen Friis- Olsen, Eurotary 87 President welcomed those present.

- 2. **Apology for absence** was received from Fos-sur- Mer.
- 3. **The Roll Cool of Clubs** attending along with exchanges of banners and gifts followed:

Etwall & Hilton, Haddenham & District, Kolbäck, Bayreuth-Eremitage, Langenhagen –Wedemark, North Fylde, The Wreake Valley, Westerlo.

- 4. **Minutes of the 25**th **Assembly AGM** in Bayreuth were approved.
- 5. Matters arising not on the Agenda.

Steen Friis-Olsen asked for photos and other interesting information from previous meetings to forward.

6. Report of Haddenham & Districts humanitarian project.

Ken Elphick: Last year we proposed to use the funds collected for a poultry house for a boarding school for deaf children at Njiapanda,

Tanzania and to supply this with a water harvesting system. The proposal was approved.

This project provided for a steel and block hen house for 200 chicks, feed and medication to point of lay, water harvesting from the school roof, pumps, pipe work and a micro irrigation system for the school garden.

Vegetables have already been profitably grown for the school kitchen and for sale to the local community, and the chickens will begin to lay in Oct. 2017. The project is sustainable, but there is insufficient water to maximise garden crops due to water shortage.

Our current fundraising is to support a Global Grant to provide a borehole in this school, so that there can be a continual supply of vegetables for the school kitchen.

7. Host club for the 2018 assembly.

The offer from The Wreake Valley to host in 2018 was welcomed and formally accepted.

Graham Packwood informed shortly with pictures about the meeting on the 7-9th of September 2018 including golf, accomodation, events, AGM etc.

As the club is quite small, and there has been just a little time to prepare the meeting a more detailed, program shall be provided.

8. Host club for the 2019 assembly.

Peter Dalton (Eurotary 87 Honorary Life President) expressed wishes for the appearance of many participating clubs -

BUT: By now none of the clubs has offered to host the meeting! He stressed, that if no club will host for 2019 the Eurotary 87 meetings may come to an end.

Steen Friis-Olsen (Eurotary 87 Honorary Life Vice President) too urged the present members to return to their clubs and move them to overcome this severe difficulty.

9. Presentation of the humanitarian project 2017/2018 from the Rotary club of Korsør Nor.

David Drachmann- Sunne (President of Korsør Nor) gave a thorough information about Project Tushikane (NGO) including the budget for a new house containing facilities for meals, studying, leisure time etc.

The project is an extension of running project, directed by a group in Würzburg, Germany, who - with the help of a native group in Mapanda, Tanzania — has constructed a school, water supply, a dormitory for girls etc. They badly need the house, as they take their meals in the open. The project (32.000 €) depend on the benevolence of the Eurotary 87 clubs as initiators as money collected will be doubled - and redoubled - afterwards.

The presentation of the project shall be forwarded to the in Korsør present AGM 2017 clubs and will be a part of the official Eurotary 87 site.

The approval and benevolence was obvious:

The Wreake Valley 500£

North Fylde 400£

Kolbäck 5000 SEK

And 500€ from Bayreuth-Eremitage, Etwall & Hilton, Haddenham & District, Langenhagen- Wedemark, Westerlo.

THANK YOU.

Bank transfer should be made to the following account:

Danske Bank, reg.no. 3212 Account no. 3212026158

IBAN acc.no. DK8730003212026158

BIC (SWIFT –address) DABADKKK.

10. Handover of Eurotary 87 Presidency.

The baton was formally handed over to Graham Packwood, who was inducted as next year Eurotary 87 President.

11. Closing remarks.

Steen Friis-Olsen, the 2017 Eurotary President closed the proceedings and thanked everyone for coming to Korsør.

Arne Weldingh, Eurotary 87 Secretary 2017 Steen Friis – Olsen, Eurotary 87 President 2017